Google, Amazon, Facebook, Twitter are a menace

Google, Amazon, Facebook, Twitter are a menace

By Mitchell Feierstein | 11 November, 2017
Google’s office in New York City. Photo: IANS
Washington’s pay-to-play government defines some monopolies as good and some monopolies as bad, and it has chosen to define these monopolies as good.

In 1949, George Orwell wrote the book 1984, in which he accurately predicted the future with Francis Bacon’s phrase “knowledge is power”. This is true today more than ever.

Facebook, Google, Amazon and Twitter actively control information flow through their oligopoly of all readily available content on the internet. Amazon has even moved beyond the internet, not that it needed to because print is dead, and now owns the Washington Post. Additionally, Amazon seeks to dominate our drug and food supply. This unregulated oligopoly, which was initially narrowly focused on frivolous social media and consumer products, has grown rapidly and amassed the ability to decide what is “fake news” and what isn’t. And Facebook and Google have both been caught using algorithms to make those decisions via the manipulation of search results.

The old fogies in the US Congress do not understand the power of the internet or how successful the proprietary algorithms utilised by Facebook, Google and Twitter can be at manipulating public opinion, while suffocating opposing views. The situation is a million times worse than the situation depicted by Orwell. For example, US Congressman Marsha Blackburn’s US Senate campaign advertisements were blocked on social media because the candidate is pro-life.

Google and Facebook’s internet supremacy has far reaching implications; arguably, they endeavoured to manipulate the recent presidential election by prioritising, and sometimes altogether burying, content. Google’s founder was even on Hillary Clinton’s election committee. Facebook goes a step further than Google in individually curating content, segregating its users into political bubbles by showing them articles they would like, without ever showing dissenting viewpoints. This drip-feed of the “narrative” breeds groupthink among its users (i.e. everybody with internet), who then regurgitate that narrative to the extreme, ostracising all who dare to disagree. (Who else lost friends as a result of the 2016 elections?) However, the public was aided by subreddits such as r/The_Donald and r/HillaryforPrison, in spite of Reddit’s attempts to quiet its users, and saw how search results were manipulated by Google during the 2016 presidential elections. I’m sure that by the 2020 elections, Google and Facebook will have sufficiently honed their algorithms to manipulate content that could deliver the candidate of their choosing.

Throughout the history of human civilisation, including periods of ecclesiastical rule, no entity has had as much power to influence and control the social and political ideals of billions of people with zero oversight or regulation as these tech giants. This is extremely dangerous and can end very badly. These companies pose a danger to democratic society’s liberty and the West’s entire way of life. Google and Facebook will never release or disclose how they are tweaking their algorithms to impact social movements or influence and suppress democratic process and liberty. The tech oligopoly swallows up any and all potential challengers, eliminating competition in a manner that the Sherman Antitrust Act was drafted to prevent. Will anybody, government or otherwise, try to enforce those provisions and promote the free market?

It appears unlikely, as the tech oligopoly has already grown out of control. This is David vs an army of Goliaths.

Microsoft, at the time of its break up by DOJ prosecutors, was smaller and far less influential than Facebook, Google and Amazon are today. Ironically, Google supported the breakup of Microsoft because of Microsoft’s monopolistic practices around operating systems that were hostile towards competitor software. Google and Facebook currently do the same thing with their search engine and news feed respectively, but it’s about a thousand times worse—Microsoft controlled the market for software, Google and Facebook control the market for information. While the Federal Trade Commission has been charged with the responsibility of promoting consumer protection and preventing coercive monopolies, no regulatory agency has been provided the necessary firepower to effectively regulate or oversee the algorithms that control and censor Google’s search engine or Facebook’s content. Perhaps hell has frozen over, but this might be one situation where a grant of greater authority and resources to government regulators to review algorithmic trade secrets might actually benefit the general public.

Throughout the history of human civilisation, including periods of ecclesiastical rule, no entity has had as much power to influence and control the social and political ideals of billions of people with zero oversight or regulation as these tech giants. This is extremely dangerous.

Don’t count on politicians, especially in the United States, to enforce the existing antitrust laws, because these internet behemoths are too big, too connected, and contribute too much to the congressional coffers to have laws apply to them. Google and Facebook are two of the biggest companies in the world, and their lobbying dollars control the corrupt political system in Washington, DC’s swamp.

Recent disclosure forms show that Google spent $5.93 million between 1 April and 30 June 2017, more than any other corporation in Q2 2017. After wasting tens of millions (perhaps hundreds) on the Clintons, all of these Silicon Valley players need to buy new influence in Washington to prevent an antitrust action. Google will be this year’s top corporate lobbying spender in the US. Amazon’s spend is not far behind, and Facebook’s spending is right up there as well.

Washington’s pay-to-play government defines some monopolies as good and some monopolies as bad—and it has chosen to define these monopolies as good.

Unfortunately, the US Supreme Court won’t be much help either. Without a David to bring the Goliaths to task, the Supreme Court cannot opine on the legality and the frightening consequences of allowing the algorithms of these internet companies to manipulate and control our lives, behaviour and social values. When will our courts be able to act? As usual, they will decide to close the barn door after all the horses have bolted. Is democracy’s only hope that the European Court of Justice will rule against this too connected to prosecute army of the “Silicon Valley Goliaths”?

SYSTEMIC CORRUPTION BY DEEP STATE MUST END NOW

Facebook, Google and Amazon disseminate deep-state propaganda, while crushing opposing viewpoints with impunity. Google and Facebook have both teamed up with national security agencies to spy on the public to control public sentiment, as well as political, moral and social values. Amazon has even entered into a $600 million partnership with the CIA and NSA to provide “cloud services”. Similar to the psychological operations implemented by the Central Intelligence Agency in the 1960s, when they created the conspiracy theory program to malign, discredit and make unfounded allegations, anyone who takes on the establishment is a propagandist working for the Russian government.

Thanks to Washington’s swamp of corruption, the deep state’s interference and partnerships with these internet-based providers to collect Orwellian data points on Americans, information flows are controlled and diversity of thought is stifled.

To be clear: the biggest emerging existential threat to liberty, democracy, and freedom is Facebook, Google and Amazon and the money they pump into Washington’s swamp, allowing them to grow even bigger and giving them control of all information flows. Is this freedom? Not on your life. It’s time to break up and regulate Facebook, Google and Amazon.

Mitchell Feierstein is CEO of Glacier Environmental Fund and author of Planet Ponzi: How Politicians and Bankers Stole Your Future.

 

There are 2 Comments

Breaking up Google, Amazon, Facebook and Apple appears Luddism as they impede innovation - Luddism. BatteryIncluded, through an anonymous IP while on an harassment campaign on Wikipedia last November, said that: “Now that Trump has been elected, it doesn’t much matter ... human civilization on this planet is soon over.” Starkiller88 is a single-purpose user obsessed with the failure/repeat of the Russian spacecraft Phobos-Grunt. His months-long disruptions escalated now to acussation of me being part of Anonymous hackers waging war against he. He is obviously a paranoid person with whom it is not worth trying to explain the 5 Pilars of Wikipedia. Now, if I may, I will return to my private space station, stroke my cat and relish on the destruction reaped by my minions at Anonymopus. One of the popular predictions about Russia is that when the permafrost thaws and the floods come, nothing will survive on Earth but Russia. The climate will change and Russia will occupy the best inhabitable zone. Plus, Russia is predicted to herald in world peace and flourish in the face of good fortune. Vanga also once said: “Everything melts away like ice yet the glory of Vladimir, the glory of Russia are the only things that will remain. Russia will not only survive, it will dominate the world.” Russia is on a roll with assorted victories. Whether we can believe that Russia will initiate world peace, however, remains to be seen. Edgar Cayce had a similar message related by Vanga and he mentioned the possibility of third world war resulting in troubles related to Egypt, Turkey, Syria and Libya. “In Russia there comes the hope of the world, not as that sometimes termed of the communistic, or Bolshevik, no; but freedom, freedom! That each man will live for his fellow man! The principle has been born. It will take years for it to be crystallised, but out of Russia comes again the hope of the world.” (Edgar Cayce, 1944, No. 3976-29) Cayce said that these events could be averted if humanity changed its behavior – but in the 70 years since his prediction, mankind has not changed at all. Thus, World War III is on the way, and it may signal the end of life on earth. Cayce foresaw the third world war even before the end of the second world war. He spoke of strife arising near the Davis Straits, and in Libya, and in Egypt, in Ankara, and in Syria; through the straits around those areas above Australia, in the Indian Ocean and the Persian Gulf. [THE DAVIS STRAITS ABOVE ARE NEAR GREENLAND AND CANADA. PERHAPS THIS IS WHERE RUSSIAN SUBS MIGHT STRIKE???] A FEW DAYS AGO I POSTED A BLOG REGARDING THE 3RD SECRET AND FATHER MALACHI MARTIN. ALONG WITH THIS POST I ALSO POSTED WHAT I BELIEVE TO BE THE CURRENT TIME LINE WE AS A WORLD ARE ON. BY 2017, THE 100TH YEAR ANNIVERSARY OF THE VIRGIN MARY'S APPARITION IN FATIMA, PORTUGAL, WILL BE ON OCTOBER 13TH, 2017! THIS IS KEY BECAUSE BY THIS DATE, THE WORLD WAR AND THE ANTI-CHRIST WILL HAVE BEEN DEFEATED AND RUSSIA WILL BE ONE OF THE LAST COUNTRIES STANDING. CHINA BEING THE OTHER. THE WORLD'S POPULATION WILL HAVE BEEN REDUCED BY 90%!!! WHAT'S SO INTERESTING IS THAT IN FATHER MALACHI MARTIN'S RADIO INTERVIEWS FROM BACK IN THE 90'S, HE CONSTANTLY STATED HOW "SALAVATION WOULD COME FROM RUSSIA." NOW, I HAVE COME ACROSS OTHER PROPHETS THAT ALL HAVE SAID AND WRITTEN THE EXACT SAME THING. VANGA WAS A BULGARIAN PROPHET, BLIND MOST OF HER LIFE, SHE TOO STATED THAT "EVERYTHING MELTS AWAY LIKE ICE YET THE GLORY OF VLADIMIR AND THE GLORY OF RUSSIA ARE THE ONLY THINGS THAT WILL REMAIN. RUSSIA WILL NOT ONLY SURVIVE, IT WILL DOMINTATE THE WORLD." SHE MADE THIS STATEMENT IN 1979!!! NOW, LET US LOOK AT A PROPHET FROM THE U.S. EDGAR CAYCE. HE SAID, " IN RUSSIA, THERE COMES THE HOPE OF THE WORLD." HE ALSO STATED THAT IT WOULD BE THROUGH RUSSIA THAT FREEDOM WOULD ONCE AGAIN BE OBTAINED. WHEN I HEAR MALACHI MARTIN, VANGA, EDGAR CAYCE AND THE VIRGIN MARY ALL SAY THAT RUSSIA WILL BE THE "SALVATION" "HOPE" AND THE "INSTRUMENT OF GOD" IT IS CLEAR TO SEE THAT NOTHING HAS HAPPENED TO PUTIN BECAUSE HE IS THE MAN THAT GOD WILL USE TO BRING FREEDOM TO THE WORLD. FREEDOM FROM THE LUCIFERIAN RULE OF THE ILLUMINATI THAT HAS LASTED FOR CENTURIES THROUGH THEIR MASONIC MINIONS. IT IS CLEAR THAT PUTIN HAS BEEN OUT OF SIGHT LATELY, BUT IF MY HUNCH IS CORRECT, HE IS MAKING PREPARATIONS FOR THE COMING WAR. OTHER CATHOLIC PROPHECIES TALK ABOUT A CATHOLIC MONARCH, AND I HAVE POSTED ALL OF THIS INFORMATION HERE ON THIS BLOG IN THE PAST FEW YEARS. ANOTHER THING I FOUND INTERESTING WAS HOW VANGA DESCRIBES HOW EVERYTHING, ACCORDING TO HER, "MELTS AWAY LIKE ICE." BACK ON JAN. 18TH OF THIS YEAR, IN THE FOLLOWING POST, I WROTE ABOUT HOW THE ILLUMINATI CURSE ON THE WORLD IS MELTING AWAY. http://prophecyinthemaking.blogspot.com/2015/01/the-illuminati-curse-is-melting-away.html IT'S AMAZING HOW GOD CONFIRMS YOUR MESSAGE. WHEN I WROTE ABOUT THIS BACK IN JANUARY, I COMPARED THIS TO THE MOVIE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA, WHERE THE WITCH'S CURSE ON THE LAND BEGAN TO MELT AWAY THE CLOSER AZLAN'S RETURN BECAME. ALL THROUGHOUT THE LAND OF NARNIA THE ICE BEGAN TO MELT AND PEOPLE AND CREATURES THROUGHOUT THE LAND BEGAN TO NOTICE THIS AND HOPE BEGAN TO SPRING UP WITHIN THEM. FOR THE PAST 5 YEARS, ON THIS BLOG, I HAVE BEEN WRITING ABOUT JUST THIS PHENOMENON THROUGHOUT THE WORLD. ALL OF THE DIFFERENT SIGNS AND SYMBOLS THAT THAT GOD ALMIGHTY IS SENDING TO US, ARE ALL SIGNS THAT THE ILLUMINATI'S DOWNFALL IS IMMINENT! THEIR PLANS FOR A NWO WILL BE CUT SHORT AND ALL OF GOD'S PROPHETS ATTEST TO THIS. THEY ALL SAY THE SAME THING. GOD IS WITH RUSSIA AND WILL USE RUSSIA TO CASTIGATE THE TRIBE OF DAN NATIONS, WHICH ARE ALL OF THE ILLUMINATI/MASONIC CONTROLLED NATIONS THROUGHOUT THE WORLD.

Since then, he has started a harrassment campaign on my talk page and introduced false information in my user page: [7], his messages range from pleads to "redemption" [8], claims a compulsion to vandalize [9], and lately, blaming me for infecting his computer with a computer virus/trojan [10]. Today he escalated with personal attacks: [11], [12], he also does edits under IP numbers starting with 115. Thank you. -BatteryIncluded (talk) 15:34, 23 June 2012 (UTC). FALSE FLAG PREDICTIVE PROGRAMMING STEMMING ALL THE WAY BACK TO 2002, WHEN THE SUM OF ALL FEARS CAME OUT. NOTE MOVIE AFTER MOVIE, AND EVEN COMMERCIALS OF STADIUMS THAT SEEM TO FOREWARN OF A COMING FALSE FLAG! AS YOU SEE THE FOLLOWING CLIPS, NOTE HOW THEY ARE ALL RELATED TO FOOTBALL, OR THE SUPERBOWL IN SOME WAY. THE COMMERCIALS ARE FROM SUPERBOWL COMMERCIALS. AS YOU SEE THE FOLLOWING CLIPS, NOTE HOW THEY ARE ALL RELATED TO FOOTBALL, OR THE SUPERBOWL IN SOME WAY. THE COMMERCIALS ARE FROM SUPERBOWL COMMERCIALS. MOVIE OBLIVION ABOVE AND DARK KNIGHT RISES BELOW SUM OF ALL FEARS BELOW COMMERCIAL SHOWING THE SHELL OF A STADIUM SUPERBOWL COMMERCIAL I'M SURE THERE ARE MANY MORE OUT THERE, BUT THIS IS CLEARLY A MESSAGE THESE LUCIFERIANS SATANISTS HAVE ALL BEEN GIVING THE "GOYIM" AS THEY CALL US, FOR YEARS. PRAY AT ALL TIMES AND BE PREPARED!!!! ALSO, I WANTED TO ADD THIS COMMENT FROM MARC IN MY PREVIOUS POST AS THIS IS ONE OF THE REASONS THAT PROMPTED TO WRITE THIS POSTS, AS IT SHOWS ME THAT THE FALSE FLAG IS VERY CLOSE!!! ALSO, I WANTED TO ADD THE FACT THAT JUST AS MARC SAW THIS FLOOD THAT COVERED THE WORD, THIS PAST WEEK I TOO HAVE SEEN IMAGES WHERE I SEE PEOPLE UNDER WATER, BUT THEY ARE NOT DEAD, JUST UNDER WATER, AS IF THEY WERE TRAPPED. NOTICE THAT THIS WAS ONE OF TRUMP'S WORDS THAT HE USED TODAY. I SEE THE WATER MORE AS SYMBOLIC OF THE WORLD WAR'S AFTER EFFECTS THAT FLOOD THE WORLD WITH NOT JUST PHYSICAL DESTRUCTION AND "CARNAGE" (ANOTHER WORD HE USED) BUT OVERWHELM IT AND FLOOD IT IN A SPIRITUAL AND EMOTIONAL SENSE. ALSO MARC, 2 YEARS AGO I POSTED A POST ON HERE ON THE VISIONS OF BABA VANGA, http://prophecyinthemaking.blogspot.com/2015/03/russiahope-of-world.html WHERE SHE STATES THAT “Not many people believe that Trump will be a good president,” she eventually responds. “At the beginning people will be negative, but in the end he will put things in the right place and America will be very happy with him.” It’s not the answer I was expecting, nor does it seem remotely likely, but whatever—who am I to argue with a dead Bulgarian lady? Also, Trump will serve two terms. Next up: Brexit. Should we be worried? “Brexit is not a bad thing for England,” Vanya responds. “It will be hard for two years and then the third year will be very good for England. We will be very strong.” It strikes me that, for a dead lady, Baba Vanga is very right-wing and reactionary and xenophobic. For example, when I ask Vanya to ask Baba about the threat from ISIS, she dismisses it and tells me that the real threat is from unchecked immigration. “This country has to be more careful with immigrants who come from other countries,” says Bulgarian-born Madame Vanya/Baba Vanga. Weirdly, Baba is extremely specific in identifying the precise parts of the UK (or England, as she persists in calling it), where Muslims are supposedly failing to integrate. “It’s Nottingham, Birmingham, North London,” Vanya says, “Those are the places that the special police need to concentrate on.” At this point I start scanning the room for copies of the Daily Mail, but all I can see are those infernal china dolls. Is this Vanya or Vanga talking? Revisiting my biography of Vanga later in the day, I notice that everyone in the book is white (to be fair, the book’s in black and white so it’s hard to tell.) Maybe it is Vanga talking, after all. Could it be that Vanga, beloved baba of Eastern Europe, really is a racist? SO JUST AS MARC SAW THAT RUSSIA WAS LEFT IN TACT WITH WATER ALL AROUND, VANGA STATED THAT THE GLORY OF VLADIMIR AND THE GLORY OF RUSSIA ARE THE ONLY THINGS THAT WILL REMAIN. Marc January 20, 2017 at 6:29 PM Hello Elijah, Thanks for covering the Protocols; the most critical document where every sentence can be made into an hour long FACTUAL sermon. TODAY, AFTER WATCHING TRUMP SPEAK AT THE INAUGURATION CEREMONY, I AM 100% CERTAIN THAT THE WAR IS CERTAINLY ON! The great showdown and ALL THE INGREDIENTS for the Third World War as outlined by Albert Pike IS IN PLACE! The Political Zionists and the Islamic World have now been set up to fight each other. Now we wait for the second 9/11 event IN THE US with THOUSANDS OF AMERICAN CASUALITIES to trigger the decision that will allow Trump to make the killing blow and start the war. THAT IS HIS DESTINY. HE HAS NO OTHER ROLE TO PLAY. CAN YOU IMAGINE HIM BEING A PRESIDENT IN ANY NORMAL SENSE OF THE WORD? NO. PASSING BILLS AND JUST BEING A PRESIDENT? NO. HE IS THERE TO LEAD WESTERN CIVILIZATION AND ITS MIGHTY ARMED FORCES AGAINST THE ISLAMIC CIVILIZATION JUST AS BUSH WAS ELECTED TO BE IN COMMAND DURING THE FIRST PHASE OF THE ASSAULT ON THE ARAB NATIONS WITH THE FLIMSY FALSE ACCUSATION OF WMD'S. HIS "WAR CABINET" JUST AS YOU POINTED OUT IS ALSO IN PLACE. Obama, the previous agent has already set up the military forces LAST WEEK for Trump: to make his job easier when the war begins. I suspect at this time that the false flag will occur on February 5th at the Super Bowl in Dallas. The movie Oblivion with Tom Cruise shows a destroyed stadium in which the last Super Bowl occurred and you can clearly see in the movie in yellow letters the year 2017. I hope and pray that awareness will spread for the Elders to postpone their plans but I am not going to relax AT ALL until the Super Bowl is over. I HOPE I AM WRONG. Also remember the speech by Trump on October 31st. He said "in 4 months WE WILL BE IN MOSUL." HE KNOWS SOMETHING. HE KNOWS THE GRAND ROLE HE WILL PLAY. WHAT RUSSIA DOES OR DID DOES NOT MATTER AS THE FALSE FLAG WILL CAUSE A RAGE AMONG AMERICANS TO UTTERLY SMASH THE MIDDLE EAST WITH THE ARMED FORCES. I ALSO SUSPECT THE RUSSIANS KNOW OF THESE PLANS BUT THEY PRETEND THEY ARE JUST ANOTHER BLIND NATION TO FOOL THE ELDERS. THEY QUICKLY GOT THEIR AIRCRAFT CARRIER AND MOST OF THEIR WARPLANES OUT OF SYRIA. THEY KNOW THEY TRIED BUT FAILED TO STOP THE SATANIC ENEMY OUTSIDE RUSSIA. NOW THEY HAVE DEPLOYED THE BEST ANIT-AIRCRAFT SYSTEM IN MOSCOW AND ELSEWHERE. CRIMEA IS ALSO IN FULL MOBILIZED ALERT. THIS IS FOR REAL. RUSSIA IS IN FULL WARTIME ALERT. ALSO ALL OF EUROPE IS IN ALERT AND THEIR GOVERNMENTS HAVE MADE PREPARATIONS FOR THEIR POPULATIONS TO TAKE SHELTER. SAME IN RUSSIA. I had a dream almost 10 years ago. I have had many Divine Dreams which I had wrote down. In this dream, which was my first ever Divine Dream, Russia gets attacked by a modern armed force. Russian soldiers fight fiercely. There is a massive earthquake. There is a flood. And all the nations of the world disappear under the ocean while I see Russia with its current borders as one massive island across an earth that now has 1 GIANT OCEAN!!! NOW HOW CAN MY MIND MADE THIS UP!!? THIS DREAM MUST MEAN SOMETHING. I HOPE this dream is a sign that RUSSIA WILL WIN THE WAR. GOD WILL NOT LET RUSSIA DOWN AS HER ENEMIES ARE THINKING. CHRISTIAN RUSSIA WILL PREVAIL AND FOIL THE PLANS OF THE ELDERS OF ZION. I hope that is how it will play out. Finally, the FEMA camps and the stockpiled UN vehicles in the USA are all in place along with the permanently closed Wal-Mart's. I say today was just the SATANIC CALM before the titanic storm. The enemy promised all sorts of good things for the gullible masses. I HOPE I AM WRONG. I HOPE I AM WRONG. I WANT TO GET MARRIED THIS YEAR AND START A FAMILY AND BE A FATHER AND PROVIDER. BUT IT'S ALL GOD'S WILL. HE GIVES AND TAKES AWAY. HE MADE ME STRONG AND ALSO MADE ME A WARRIOR. SO HE DECIDES HOW I WILL LIVE OUT MY LIFE. The troll/vandal Starkiller88 that you once blocked ([41]) is back at it. Since then, he has started a harrassment campaign on my talk page and introduced false information in my user page: [42]. His messages range from pleads to "redemption" [43], claims a compulsion to vandalize [44], and lately, blaming me for infecting his computer with a computer virus/trojan [45]. Today he escalated with personal attacks: [46], [47]. He also does edits under IP numbers starting with 115. I filed an ANI ([48]) but I figure the process may not be needed as it is redundant and repetitive. Thank you, -BatteryIncluded (talk) 15:46, 23 June 2012 (UTC). Looks like it's been dealt with - I support the new indef block. -- Boing! said Zebedee (talk) 19:51, 23 June 2012 (UTC).

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.