First-world cars, third-world driving: Why India must privatise licences

First-world cars, third-world driving: Why India must privatise licences

By ARVIND KALA | 7 November, 2015
Road crashes also happen because a bribe enables lakhs of incompetent drivers to buy a driving licence.
Indian roads are dotted with sickening crashes that kill around 380 people a day. How can India reduce this enormous toll? The solution is simple. Privatise the giving of driving licences to India’s auto companies. They will do an infinitely better job than our government-run Road Transport Offices (RTOs).
This partial privatisation doesn’t mean closing down the RTOs, which are India’s sole authority to give a driving licence. Privatisation only means diluting the government’s driving-licence monopoly, and allowing India’s auto sector to set up parallel driving-licence offices. To test an applicant’s driving skills rigorously before giving or denying him a driving licence.
India’s auto companies are global players today. Their cars, buses and trucks sell overseas. Companies like Maruti, Mahindra, Tata Motors, Toyota, Hyundai, Ford, or General Motors have expertise. They are qualified to assess how well or badly an applicant drives.
So driving-licence companies run by India’s top auto sector will give driving licences only to those who’ll be safe on Indian roads. And not to any unskilled driver or two-wheeler rider with money in an envelope. Slowly, with the passage of years, India’s road crashes will reduce as the roads fill up with a new class of driver who is safe and skilful behind the wheel of a car. 
Make no mistake about India’s road-crash deaths. They are largely caused by over-speeding. Every road-accident study in India shows that. And the road crashes happen because a bribe enables lakhs of incompetent drivers to buy a driving licence.
Making roads safer is a crying need in India. Compare India with the US. The US has six times more motorised vehicles than India. But India sees four times more road-crash fatalities. Our road-accident fatalities were 141,000 last year. They were only 32,719 in the US (source: Wikipedia). The 2014 roads deaths in Britain were just 1,775 (source: UK’s Department of Transportation). 
While our road-crash rate remains virtually the same, the rate in the US or Britain drops every year. New York today sees fewer crashes today than when counting began in 1910. So it is with the rest of the developed world, including China. 
Roads overseas are safe because driving tests are so rigorous that it’s routine for aspirants to fail two-three times before passing a driving exam. First, the applicant undergoes a detailed theory exam where he is bombarded with questions like: How do you check a car’s brake oil? Its brake oil? Its battery?
Then comes the driving test. The applicant fails if he starts a car without opening a side-view mirror. He fails if he approaches a roundabout too fast. Or too slow. He fails if he doesn’t glance at his rear-view and side-view mirrors constantly. He fails if he tail-gates even for a moment. Which means driving too close to a car in front. He fails if he doesn’t park his car just a few inches from a kerb and parallel to it.
He fails if he cannot reverse and squeeze his car between two cars parked closely together. A driving examiner assessor can then ask the candidate to drive slowly up a steep road, park, and stop on the side. Then the instructor will get down and place a flimsy match-box right up under the car’s rear tyre. Then he’ll get into the front seat and ask the aspirant to start the parked car and move forward. If the car rolls back an inch and crushes the match-box, the candidate fails.
By the time a motorist clears the exam, his driving becomes flawless. No wonder roads in developed nations are so safe. In contrast, India’s unskilled drivers get driving licences easily and become lethal unguided missiles on India’s roads, sitting behind the wheel of a 2,000-kilo car going at 60-80 km per hour. We have first-world cars and third-world driving. 
The government monopoly over giving driving licences has turned the RTOs into a lucrative industry. At least 1.15 crore driving licences were given in India in 2010, according to the then Joint Secretary in the Transport Ministry. He added another 45 lakh driving licences were renewed annually (source: Times of India, 4 April 2012). 
Every licence or licence renewal means under-the-table payments that amount to hundreds of crores every year. Any move to dilute the government’s monopoly will spark a revolt in the RTOs. 
If set up, India’s driving-licence privatisation will bring international driving standards to our roads. It’s a long road ahead. But if there’s one minister who can implement this, it’s the dabangg Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, who is both quick, dynamic, and persuasive enough to push a new idea through our sluggish officialdom.
If set up, auto company driving-licence offices should be free to set their own price. Let them charge what they wish for a driving licence. Competition between the auto companies will lower prices. The consumer will benefit. Sadly, when we see a figure of 141,000 deaths a year on Indian roads, the toll doesn’t register. As Stalin once said, one death is a tragedy, a million deaths is a statistic. In reality, the deaths and maiming from road crashes ruin tens of thousands of Indian families. The families plunge into poverty
Not just that. Road-crash deaths and injuries even hurt a nation’s economy. They cost around 5% of a poor nation’s GDP, says the International Road Assessment Programme (IRAP). IRAP adds that a dead or maimed 17-year-old ends up costing more than an 80-year-old.
Is a driving-licence privatisation possible? Why not? Two examples are aviation and telecom. Private airlines didn’t displace Air India. Private telecom companies didn’t replace BSNL. In the same way, a Tata or Mahindra driving-licence company won’t replace the RTOs. Both will co-exist.
The RTOs will continue to give out driving licences. So will the new private companies. But I expect one thing to happen. The greater credibility of private driving licences will steadily wipe out the driving-licence business of the RTOs. 
This will happen for two reasons. Like all parents, Indian parents want their growing children to be safe. So they’ll insist that the children get their driving skills tested and approved by a private driving-licence company before giving them the family car.  Private driving-school offices will also attract salaried car drivers whose livelihood comes from driving a sahib around. Our cities have lakhs of these professional drivers. A private driving licence will make it easier for them to find a driver’s job. Thanks to the licence’s greater worth in the eyes of an employer. 
Arvind Kala is a free-lance writer, which he says is a euphemism for being unemployed.
FACT-CHECK
1. 141,000 people died on Indian roads last year in 2014. When 141,000 is divided by 365 days in a year the figure comes to 386 people a day.
2. The failure rate of driving-licence applicants in Britain comes from the UK’s ­government’s online statistics.
 

There are 1112 Comments

We get rid of the process by providing you together with the final remedy of experiencing equally in our methods of choosing between performance and mobility. Feel free to surf to my page: gaming pc best buy - http://Peluche.1001peluches.com/post/2010/04/27/BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH-%21%21%21

I have fun with, cause I found just what I used to be looking for. You've ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye Here is my blog post; <a href="http://candyylove.weebly.com/">chicken meat grinder</a>

Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. A great read. I will certainly be back. Also visit my blog meat slicer blade sharpener - https://fat233.wordpress.com/

Pⅼease notᥱ: Program availability varies Ƅy location-please check your website of choice foг specific training cоurse offerings. Allso visit mү weblog :: <a href="https://swillmsblog.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/microsoft-brengt-nieuwe-age-of-empires-uit-voor-windows-en-windows-phone/">Domingo</a>

I really like reading websites such as this! Causes me to experience an experience that is cozy satisfying and also educated! Thank you so much! Visit my webpage learn more about visalus - http://www.japoo.net/bbs/index.html

Wow, superb blog structure! How lengthy have you been running a blog for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, let alone the content! My web-site: <a href="http://finance.yahoo.com/news/perfect-biotics-reviews-important-news-205300400.html">perfect biotics</a>

En cas d'continuité, on entre en phase de estropié subite, et c'est le unique qui détruit une rotation qui remporte le match. Look into my blog post: clash royale astuce - http://www.jeuxvideo.com/forums/42-32104-47073315-1-0-1-0-astuces-clash-royale-gemmes-triche-ios-android.htm

Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I'm getting tired of Wordpress because I've had problems with hackers and I'm looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform. my blog; <a href="http://finance.yahoo.com/news/vitapulse-reviews-important-news-reported-192400252.html">vitapulse review</a>

It's hard to find well-informed people about this subject, but you seem like you know what you're talking about! Thanks Check out my website - vitapulse dr oz - http://finance.yahoo.com/news/vitapulse-reviews-important-news-reported-192400252.html

Hey, I am an adult male, I have been to Veitnam during the WAR there and was shot at by the Veit cong. Take a look at my web page: <a href="http://Www.mksj.cn/comment/html/index.php?page=1&id=20646">افضل شركة رش مبيدات بالرياض</a>

I regard something truly interesting about your weblog so I saved to my bookmarks. Review my site; gej.testing.ratelsoft.com; Kellee - http://gej.testing.ratelsoft.com/forum/profile.php?id=399800 ,

They are actually simple to use. You can control them really good in your mobile system, however it is additionally great to use on your pc system. Feel free to surf to my web blog ... <a href="http://ow.ly/Iabw301YUZz">3ds emulator android</a>

You're so interesting! I don't suppose I've truly read something like this before. So wonderful to discover someone with unique thoughts on this subject. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This site is one thing that's needed on the web, someone with some originality! Take a look at my web site; shadowhawk flashlight - http://finance.yahoo.com/news/shadowhawk-x800-important-news-reported-230000155.html

While this is no doubt convenient, it also helps save a lot of time. Southern Dunes, Haines City- It features sand dunes and rolling fairways, which will test even the best players. Golfers do not need to choose between a tropical beach vacation and a customized golf tour, thanks to these three top courses that are literally on the beach. Take a look at my website: Golf Ponderosa (<a href="https://www.facebook.com/charles.urso.1">www.facebook.com</a>)

Listed below are the steps plus some prerequisites that you need to follow to upgrade HTC One M8 to Android 5.1.1 TeamUB Lollipop. Here is my site :: top mobile game development software - http://robertogilliam40.bravesites.com/entries/general/You-d-never-believe-this-video-game-might-work-on-MSP-

I really like reading blogs similar to this! Causes educated as well as me to experience a comfortable satisfying sensation! Thankyou so much! Take a look at my blog post; womens travel backpacks (<a href="http://www.wikzy.com/user/profile/229648">http://www.wikzy.com/user/profile/229648</a>)

I desired to make an effort to specific my passion towards you which amazing blog! Caring it! Feel free to visit my website - Regal Assets reviewed - http://www.lvchuang.org:11211/home.php?mod=space&uid=156687&do=profile&from=space

I am basically impressed with this website and I wanted to make an effort to thankyou from the base of my heart! My blog :: <a href="http://moypolo.ru/learn_seo9289">Consultoria Search Engine Optimization</a>

Next time I read a blog, I hope that it does not fail me just as much as this particular one. After all, Yes, it was my choice to read through, however I truly thought you would have something useful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of complaining about something that you can fix if you were not too busy looking for attention. Feel free to visit my site - nokia x6 - amandajaynephoto.com - http://amandajaynephoto.com/categories/Cartoon-My-Face/Cartoon-My-Face.html -

I think this is among the most vital information for me. And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The website style is great, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers Also visit my web site Yt Gorilla software review ( Gabrielle - http://dalereview.uzblog.net/yt-gorilla-software-reviews-and-tips-1159843 )

At this time it sounds like Movable Type is the best blogging platform out there right now. (from what I've read) Is that what you're using on your blog? Have a look at my blog post; <a href="http://shaneeqpk406.amoblog.com/considerations-to-know-about-republic-day-whatsapp-messages-1457718">republic day images in hd</a>

I'd incessantly want to be update on new articles on this web site, bookmarked! Also visit my blog: online business suddenly ( https://www.seoclerks.com/Link-Building/489450/GSA-SER-Churn-amp-Burn-35k-SEO-links - https://www.seoclerks.com/Link-Building/489450/GSA-SER-Churn-amp-Burn-35k-SEO-links )

Of treading the same path instead, Industrial Toys reexamined the real ways that people used mobile gadgets for entertainment and started from scratch. my page - samsung firmware update 2206 - <a href="https://dimashatokha87.wordpress.com">dimashatokha87.wordpress.com</a>,

The operational program is defined to improve in general, and hopefully this final upgrade will cover a lot of the issues that the telephone had. Visit my web page battle bears gold cheat - https://rusanakoz9coc.wordpress.com/2016/09/05/clash-royale-hack-galaxy-tab-s-105-photos-surface-area-courtesy-of-sammobile/

Thanks very nice blog! Also visit my web page; <a href="http://vipguitarspeaker.com/post-sitemap5.xml">guitar open tuning</a>

Usually I do not learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, quite great article. my homepage Adsviser 2 review [ Kirsten - http://www.foodspotting.com/3221800 ]

If you happen to encounter this presssing issue, please download Next Launcher Patchin Google Play and adhere to the tutorials to repair it. Stop by my site - hack xbox gold - https://emiliyakuoho2.wordpress.com/2016/03/27/clash-royale-hack-announces-pink-gold-galaxy-s7-involving-select-markets-soon/

Propriety baseband whenever and whenever we can,” said Rolland in a research note. Also visit my webpage: <a href="https://olesyakho0ff.wordpress.com/2016/07/17/for-artists-kiloo-songs-provides-far-better-bargain-than-itunes/">Subway Surfers hack paris</a>

hi!,I really like your writing very a lot! share we keep in touch more about your article on AOL? I need an expert in this space to resolve my problem. May be that's you! Looking ahead to look you. Here is my blog post: merry christmas message - http://happychristmas.co.in/

Hello, constantly i used to check weblog posts here early in the morning, because i love to gain knowledge of more and more. Stop by my homepage ... Yt Gorilla software ( Leslie - http://corisoftware.pointblog.net/Top-Guide-Of-Yt-Gorilla-Tool-2316784 )

Pretty part of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your weblog posts. Anyway I'll be subscribing on your augment or even I achievement you get right of entry to constantly fast. Feel free to visit my homepage ... beagle dog training - <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFFIUQJM0x0">www.youtube.com</a>,

Hi there all, here every one is sharing these know-how, so it's fastidious to read this webpage, and I used to go to see this website everyday. my web-site hairloss treatment ( www.youtube.com - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvK0o9SL_mc )

bookmarked!!, I love your website! Feel free to visit my web-site; <a href="http://goo.gl/QYHUAq">guitar center guitar lessons</a>

Hi there, every time i used too cheeck web site posts here in the early hours inn the break of day, for the reason that i like tto gzin knowlpedge of more and more. Also viisit my site; 4 TDI - http://www.capital.gr/auto/3001677/dokimi-vw-polo-1-4-tdi-bmt

Reported by Android Police first , Android SDK Platform 5.1.1 is available as an incremental Platform SDK update in the Google android SDK Manager. Feel free to surf to my web page ... iphone development on windows eclipse - https://lilianabb8af.wordpress.com/2016/02/25/split-blackberry/

I really like reading sites like this! Causes also and me to feel a hot enjoyable experience enlightened! Thank you so much! Look at my web blog - <a href="http://veiaigou.com/comment/html/index.php?page=1&id=12020">armed security guards</a>

Hi it's me, I am also visiting tnis site regularly, this webb page is in fact nice and the people are genuinely sharing good thoughts. My webpage; Volkswagen θα παρουσιάσει το ανανεωμένο Golf στις αρχές Μαρτίου στην έκθεση της Γενεύης - http://www.cnn.gr/style/aytokinito/story/20191/h-vw-tha-paroysiasei-to-ananeomeno-golf-stis-arxes-martioy-stin-ekthesi-tis-geneyis

Good information. Lucky me I recently found your website by accident (stumbleupon). I've saved as a favorite for later! Here is my blog :: unblock sites - <a href="http://h33tproxy.com/categories/Site-De-Ip-Proxy/index.html">h33tproxy.com</a> -

I have reawd soo many content concerning the blogger lovers buut this piece oof writing iis in fact a good paragraph, keep it up. Here is my page :: <a href="http://www.skai.gr/news/auto/article/272966/akomi-pio-oikonomiko-to-neo-vw-polo-tdi-bluemotion/">νέο VW Polo</a>

And if you skip the 15 minute refund screen, make sure you email us at help@ (we can not reply to feedback left on the Android Marketplace). Here is my webpage: iphone newsstand app help - https://izabellalyalyushkina85.wordpress.com/2016/04/28/5-new-characteristic-you-can-expect-to-discover-in-dragon-city-cheat-play-40/

The deal allows LG to use mobile and software patents for an undisclosed royalty charge, while Google gets access to technologies for wearables. my web-site ... <a href="https://rusanamik9r.wordpress.com/2016/02/21/belows-why-i-dumped-whatsapp-for-facebook-messenger/">mobile games online play free download</a>

THE OCEAN Games Results app, which offers official results, information and schedules on the athletes, will be released on, may 25 also. Review my page ... <a href="https://elizabetvedkez.wordpress.com/2016/05/01/view-the-galaxy-s6-side-destroy-the-hay-day-hay-day-cheats-6-in-this-speed-examination/">mobile games online free no download</a>

Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images on this blog loading? I'm trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it's the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated. My website :: stop hair loss (<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvK0o9SL_mc">www.youtube.com</a>)

Pokecoins can be used to buy inventory upgrades and different helpful items resembling Pokeballs , XP Boosts, Medicine, and so forth. Also visit my webpage pokego pokecoins - http://duet.vn.ua/index.php?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=872836

It will help үou gget tҺe proper pоints for buying jewels thwt ᴡill hеlp in a stedy progress. Aⅼѕo visit mmy web site ... <a href="http://castleclash.realhacks.net">Castle Clash Hack</a>

I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website. Studying this info So i am satisfied to express that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I so much surely will make sure to do not disregard this web site and provides it a look on a continuing basis. Here is my web page <a href="http://happychristmas.co.in/">funny christmas images</a>

I used to be able to find good information from your blog posts. Stop by my webpage: hair loss products that work ( www.youtube.com - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1MBB8W-MTA )

This paragraph offers clear idea for the new viewers of blogging, that actually how to do blogging. Take a look at my webpage indiabix jquery - http://bit.ly/2dMFeBc

I really like what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and reporting! Keep up the great works guys I've included you guys to my own blogroll. my web-site ... <a href="http://kylergmkf285.blogkoo.com/the-smart-trick-of-essay-republic-day-india-wikipedia-that-nobody-is-discussing-1306901">republic day images for whatsapp</a>

Where Is certainly My Stuff may be the most fun puzzle you'll get on your own Android mobile phones. Here is my webpage: iphone news apps with push - https://valeraoleshko.wordpress.com/2016/07/16/sony-dragon-city-40-update-delayed-if-you-own-a-sony-check-this-out/

Pages

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.