About 53 per cent of Bihar voters exercised their franchise in 50 of the 243 constituencies, which went to polls during the third phase, on Wednesday. Voting was by and large peaceful and there was no any major untoward incident reported from any part of the state.

Voting began at 7 am in 14,170 polling booths spread across six districts of Patna, Vaishali, Saran, Nalanda, Buxar and Bhojpur. It ended ended at 5 PM in all the constituencies, except 10 Maoist-hit ones, where it ended at 4 pm due to security reasons. With this fate of 808 candidates, including 71 women, have been sealed in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

Among the six districts, maximum voter percentage was recorded in Buxar where 56.5 % voters exercised their franchise.

As many as 1,45,93,980 voters were eligible to exercise their franchise in the third phase today, which included 78,51,593 male voters and 67,06,687 female voters.

Out of 50 seats, where elections were held today, 23 were won by JDU in the last assembly elections in 2010, whereas 19 were won by the BJP. However, JDU and BJP were allies at that time. RJD had won eight seats. This time around, the BJP is contesting on 34 seats while its allies are contesting on the remaining 16 seats. On the other hand, from the Mahagathbandhan side, RJD is contesting on 25 seats.

Lalu Prasad’s two sons – Tejashwi Yadav and Tej Pratap Yadav – contested elections for the first time today. While Tejashwi contested from Raghopur, Tej Pratap was fielded from Mahua constituency. Besides Tejashwi and Tej Pratap, other prominent politicians whose fate was also sealed today, include Nand Kishore Yadav (BJP), Ministers Shyam Rajak and Shrawan Kumar (both JDU).

Of the 243 assembly seats in Bihar, elections have already been held for 81 in the first two phases, held on 12 and 16 October. Two more rounds of elections will be held on 1 November and 5 November, while the results will be declared on 8 November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *