The first-ever international T10 Cricket League will be held at the Sharjah Cricket Ground in Dubai from December 14. Action was high as the draft for players to the five teams was telecast from on board a luxury yacht berthed at the Dubai Marina.

As many as 60 players were chosen by the 5 teams taking part in these proceedings, with the 6th team Sri Lanka Crickethaving already been announced a day prior.

The first to be taken in category A was Pakistan bowler Mohammed Amir as the Maratha Arabians set the ball rolling. In the next two rounds their think tank picked up Imad Wasim and England’s Alex Hales.

For the Pakhtoons their first choice was Fakhar Zaman followed by Tamim Iqbal and West Indian Dwayne Smith.

The Bengal Tigers opened their score with a roar pulling in Sunil Narine and backing him with Mustafizur Rahman and Darren Sammy.

The Kerala Kings then came into the fray with Keiron Pollard and the bowling duo of Sohail Tanvir and Shakib Al Hasan.

Finallly,in these elite rounds, Punjabi Legends picked up all-rounder Hassan Ali and power packed the first choice by going in for Umar Akmal and Chris Jordan.

Witnessed by a large media contingent, directors and owners of the teams, the draft process was taken very seriously with the excitement tangible. “This is the first time we have had a draft in the Emirates so a very special occasion indeed. The yacht as a venue added an extra dose of glamour. Everyone concerned has got into the spirit of it and ensured that it is an authentic and transparent process, which is why we decided to telecast the whole event,’ said Shaji Ul Mulk, Chairman of the T10 Cricket League and the man whose brainchild this inaugural event is.

Speaking on the occasion he struck a light note when he said people have asked him not just have a toss if you keep reducing the length of the game. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *